top of page

Where am I now in the Black Mold Journey?

Hello Friends,

I have not written on this site in a very long time. In fact, it's been two years at least. We lost our foster child and life crashed for a bit.

I feel compelled to write here today. We have had several new subscribers in the past couple of years. I see you, I see your subscriptions come through my email, yet I feel like I left you hanging.

So where am I now? How do I feel? Am I mold free?

I once read a blog article when I was first realized that it was black mold making me sick. That would have been in 2005. That blogger wrote it took 10 years for her to finally feel normal. I cried. Hard ugly cried. I begged God to not make it take that long. I cried into my husband's shoulder asking "she is wrong right? That is just her story not mine right".

Well it is 2020. 11 years since I first got sick. And. She was right.

It's ok to cry now. It's ok. Virtual hug. I remember thinking I was wasting my life just laying in bed. Because I couldn't do anything. I remember thinking I just lost out of my 20's and I was afraid that by the time I'd finally feel better, I would be older and start to feel bad from getting older.

And. I was right. BUT

You are not wasting your life. I used to ask God to make this journey worth it. If I could help just one person, just one, on their mold journey so that they would become better then I would count all the suffering as worth it.

Friends. My story has helped more than one. Every month or so, another of you will email me that you are starting your journey and I am so excited that you are getting help, that you will be set free, that you will be back to normal!

The chiropractor here that started with me, took classes to learn how to help me, has helped 100's in our community. God has blessed this journey more than I could have imagined. I asked for one. He gave 100's.

I still struggle with mold. I am the only one my chiropractor has treated that doesn't kick it for good. Maybe it is to keep me humble. Maybe it is to remind me of where I have been or maybe it is so I don't forget what it is like to be where you are.

I don't forget. I visit it occasionally.

So what does that mean. Well, I am soooo much better. I went from not being able to bath myself or dress myself to starting and operating two businesses. I run a wedding photography business (and I love to travel so hit me up!) And a dog boarding business.

I feel better than I have in years. I still ache and hurt. The medical doctors have declared Fibromyalgia. Which really means, they have no idea why I hurt. Or why I'm still tired.

I have been able to stay off the detox for months at a time. But only if I stay away from mold.

My personality is coming back. I'm spunky and sarcastic. My husband said this past year I finally started to laugh again. Man, I didn't even realize I went 9 years without laughing.

We moved to a new house. I was terrified we would find mold. I mean we just poured 43,000 dollars into the last house to make it mold free and I was safe there.

I wanted to start these businesses and we needed to lower the cost of living, like the mortgage payment. So we moved to a 100 year old house and what happened you ask???? MOLD.

Yep, mold happened. There had been mold growing on the chimney, so we gutted it. And I felt bad. So I went to get re-tested as I do every couple of months and what happened? Positive. Yep, I tested positive and had to start the detox again.

I was bemoaning this fact. Asking God why again. Why can't I just get over it. And then one of you, whose name starts with an M, messaged me that he was just starting detox and he felt horrible. I believe his words were "I feel like I'm dying".

I was able to walk with him through that detox, as I was detoxing myself. I think I will always struggle with mold. It's my kyrponite. Truely. But God is using it to encourage others and I pray he uses your story to encourage others as well.

I decided to include a recent photo so you can see how much healthier my eyes look.

If you are detoxing, hang in there. You have this!

Love,

Risty

Welcome!

This site chronicles the journeys in life we are traveling with God. Some are joyous, others are trials, all come with blessings and lessons. We are surviving Lyme disease and black mold poisoning, learned how to farm and we are embarking on the new adventure of foster care.

 Here is our story about

keeping a childlike 

wondrous view of the world and 

keeping a little twinkle in your soul

along the way.

Disclaimer

I am not an expert or a doctor.

 

Do not self diagnose, or attempt to self medicate. Contact a Chiropractic Physician or a Medical Doctor.

The treatment I received was holistic, not a medication. I realized medications can work as well. 

 

The information I am posting is from things that I have read, things that I have experienced and how those things effected me personally.

 

Some statements, treatments or suggestions listed in this website my not have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This website and/or any of it’s contents are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

bottom of page